Puntland parliament elect new speaker

Puntland parliament on Thursday elected Abdirashid Yusuf Jibril as the new speaker following the immediate ouster of former office holder Abdihakim Ahmed Dhoobo.

Regional MPs took no confidence against Abdihakim Dhoobo after a motion accused him legal breach and failure to lead the representative house smoothly.  

 Jibril received a majority vote in the second-round garnering 46 votes out of the 63 members present. His opponent Abdi Jamaal Osman trailed with only 17 votes.

The new speaker Jibril replaced Dhoobo who was removed from office in a majority vote last week following weeks of disagreements with a faction allied to state president Abdullahi Dani.

The new speaker previously served as director in the state ministry of information and was elected to parliament during the January 2019 elections to represent Badhan in Sanaag region.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here